The Best Ghost Photo in Over Two Years: Spirits of the San Juan Capistrano Mission and El Adobe Restaurant

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Our best spirit photo. Or, for the purists, the best anomaly captured on a digital camera.

Our best spirit photo. Or, for the purists, the best anomaly captured on a digital camera.

Click on the photo for more information!
Mission SJC Altar close

All photos by thupancic at flickr.com/photos/thupancic and flickr.com/photos/paranormalhousewives

On December 8th, 2012, the Paranormal Housewives dined at  El Adobe restaurant in San Juan Capistrano and then visited the San Juan Capistrano Mission. We were amazed at the beauty of the Mission. Marsha says it best:

“I have to say, as an investigator I have visited quite a few missions, but Mission San Juan Capistrano took my breath away. As soon as you walk the path that leads into the mission it’s like taking a step back in time. I was immediately drawn into the beauty and mystery of the mission. I could see in my mind’s eye all the people that would have resided there. It really is a humbling experience to be in a place where so many lives once existed. I think we were all surprised to find out that the day we chose to visit the mission was the 200-year memorial for the 40 souls who passed in the original church during an earthquake. We visited the ruins of the church that fell upon all those people and took their lives. If you haven’t been to San Juan Capistrano, I would highly recommend it! I can’t wait to go back!” ~ Parawife Marsha

This is Kirsten again. I wanted to add that I don’t think it’s a coincidence that we captured our best spirit photograph (see below for the original version) on the 200th anniversary of the 1812 earthquake that killed so many worshipers. There was something very solemn and sacred about our visit. We all felt it. At least two of us were moved to tears that day. There was something in the air, something that asked us to remember the past, but also a sense–for me, at least–that more sadness was around the corner. I prayed intensely that day.
Mission SJC Virgin with Candles

Mission San Fernando
Mission SJC Altar

Mission SJC Bells

Mission SJC Candle

Mission SJC candles

Mission SJC Cresh

Mission SJC Crows

Mission SJC Ghost Pic Original

Mission SJC Jennifer

Mission SJC Kir and Marsha

Mission SJC Roses

Mission SJC Ruins With PHW

Mission SJC Ruins

Mission SJC SaintThe EVPs from El Adobe restaurant in San Juan Capistrano were recorded in less than ideal conditions. We were in the basement of the restaurant, which used to serve as the jail some 150 years ago. It’s now the wine cellar. There is one, large table there and a small, adjoining room which leads to a door to the outside patio. We were told that at one time, that room connected to a tunnel. An entire family perished in that room during the time when it was a jail. Many others died while in custody. We didn’t feel anything menacing or even particularly sad in that area, which probably means that the old energy has dissipated and left behind a more peaceful feeling. The energy of the restaurant as a whole is vibrant, active and entertaining. Of course, that has much to do with the current patrons as well as the ones from the distant past.

My recorder was placed on a small shelf in the side room that used to be a pantry/tunnel/escape route. There is much ambient noise, as is to be expected at 2:00 in the afternoon on a Saturday in a Mexican restaurant. Therefore, I only include the EVPs that appear to be close to the recorder and not explained by us or the patrons upstairs. The first one, “breath,” is disconcertingly close to my recorder.

Abode Res Dec 2012 breath

This next one contains a word at the end of the clip. I don’t know what is said.

Abode Res Dec 2012 word at end of clip

Finally, I include a clip that Erin says is probably her voice, whispering. If it IS Erin, then it’s a good example of how ‘paranormal’ we can sound without meaning to. Part of me, of course, hopes that it is NOT Erin, and we have a good example of an EVP. What’s the truth here? You, dear reader, decide:

Abode Res Dec 2012 whispered I Know

We have been invited back by the owner of El Adobe for a full investigation. There are numerous reports of paranormal activity at the restaurants during hours when only some of the staff are present. I will not divulge those stories until we have had the chance to investigate thoroughly the entire site. I am very, very interested to see what still lingers at El Adobe. Suffice to say, I’ve never heard such spine-chilling reports from any other site.
Mission SJC Virgin Mary

Comments
  1. Patrick says:

    The “whispered I know” clip certainly does sound paranormal. I also have many of those that are hard to decide! I appreciate that you posted it anyway with your honest thoughts.

  2. Parawife Erin says:

    Thanks Patrick for your opinion! The reason I thought it was me was because I spoke right after that but I can’t be sure it was me. It sounds like an EVP but it could be me…who knows 🙂 Parawife Erin 🙂

Leave a Reply

