This Haunting is Personal

Posted: July 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

The photographs come from the Wall of Unknown Relatives that we have collected over the years. Marsha thinks all of these images are creating some of the energy in the house. What do you all think?

I’ve always had a very intimate and emotional relationship with my house. I know I am accompanied by spirits of many types, and we feed off of one another’s moods and feelings. From day one, someone has walked back and forth across the living room and into Gracie’s room, setting her off like a fire alarm (for those of you who still don’t know, Gracie is my green-cheeked conure, or little parrot). Things move around in my house, and someone stomps across my roof and makes the house tremble. There are huge bangs originating from nowhere and everywhere; and yes, I have plenty of evidence to back up these claims; but that’s not what this post is about.

All the ladies–Jennifer, Erin, Marsha, Kimberly, and Liz–showed up to eat cake and celebrate Jennifer’s foray into formal paranormal sisterhood when we found ourselves downstairs in the office, grouped in a circle, hearing things go bump in the night. Kimberly heard, clear as day, footsteps walk across the room and towards the sofa where she sat, listening to the invisible occupants create their own brand of social occasion. We all heard footsteps walking up and down the staircase by the office, and when I tapped away on the walls, meek taps greeted me in return. There was the sound of muted conversation all around us, off and on, but the strangest incident happened right over my head.

I was sitting in that cat-destroyed Barca Lounger of mine when Marsha noticed a blue light form over my head. We checked outside and all over the house for a natural source, but the lights were off and no light came from the distant street. Earlier, we had seen light form on the door to the second bedroom and watched incredulously as a shadow crossed it not once, not twice, but three times. These odd lights happened in response to my insistence that my house guests make an effort to appear, and that’s exactly what they did.

At a few points in the evening, even though this was not a formal investigation, I felt afraid. There was much contained emotion in my house. That’s hardly surprising. Due to the recent downturn in our fortunes (and indeed, that of the whole country), there was some question about the wisdom of remaining in the house. In a moment of despair, I covered the wall by my bed in tears, asking if the house wanted us to stay. The response was stunning: a series of loud, booming knocks that came from everywhere around me, originating in the air of the house more than the walls. Following that were footsteps on the roof and cracking sounds from Gracie’s room. It was so intense that I ran outside, fearing that something terrible was happening to my little cabin.

As it turns out, whatever or whoever is occupying my house seems to have strong feelings about me staying. As I write this, the usual suspects are watching me from the upstairs bannister. I can feel their eyes on me. They are not scary, but they are quite diverse in their identity and nature, and that fact alone is unsettling. There is a child, at least one; there is a woman who watches over our teenager; and there is at least one man with heavy boots who tortures Gracie and paces around from the bedroom to the living room. I have learned to live with all of them–and probably many more I have not identified–because they are part of this property and of my life. I think that they are used to me and prefer my company and that of my little family to the thought of some strangers showing up.

A shadow just passed over the computer screen and the wall in front of me. I thought I was here alone. I’m never alone here, am I? That’s appropriate and entirely acceptable. For now, I am staying here with my family and my spirits intact. However, I would be lying if I didn’t admit to some fear right now, as the temperature drops around me and someone is sighing and whispering behind my back or just up the stairs.

Yes, I’m writing about you. All of you. I may not be able to see you, but I am not going to abandon you here in your afterlife.

Kirsten A. Thorne, Ph.D/PHW

Comments
  1. t'eah e'hm says:

    many chills, as I read this and the thought that you are collecting a family of guests who have not perhaps had the fortune to meet you during their life time but are getting to know you just now during yours intrigues me. How fortunate they are, and if they can only communicate to you through loud knocks, sighing and whispering, then they are not so different from the very small children I work with who can only convey how they feel through their own very loud, soft and sometimes burbling noises. You are wanted by me and mine, and by your own choosing as well. xox

  2. Patrick says:

    First of all, I enjoyed the pictures and your home looks beautiful. Your writing very much reminds me of Annie Wilder’s “House of Spirits and Whispers”. I absolutely loved that book… and I’m sure it’s different once you’ve actually experienced living in a haunted home, but it seems very interesting to me. Have you read Annie’s book?

    • hortencia says:

      HELLLO I WAS READING YOUR STORY AND THE PICTURE THAT GOES UP THE STAIRS WHERE THERE IS A BUNCH OF PHOTOGRAPHS I CAN SEE TWO FACES ONE IS LITTLE BOY HE IS SO CUTE MAYBE AROUND 2 TO 5 YEARS OLD WHIITE FACE REALLY BLACK HAIR AND SHOERT BESIDE HIM THERE IS ANOTHER FACE OLD LADY ONLY CAN SEE HER FEATURES THE BIG NOSE AND THICK LIPS THE EYES AND TOP OF HER HEAD CANT SEE ON THE PICTURE OF THE INDIAN WOMEN AND GIRL WHERE THERE IS A BUNCH OF LADY IS A WHITE LIGHT ACROSS FROM THE SECOND LADY FROM THE FIRST WOMEN ON THE RIGHT LOOKING AT THAT PICTURE THE FIRST WOMEN ON THE RIGHT LOOKS LIKE THE FACE IN THE WALL SAME BIG NOSE AND THICK LIPS MIGHT BE THE ONE WATCHING ARE YOUR DAUGHTER IS THAT HER DONT WORRY SHE IS A GOOD SPIRIT VERY DEDICATED SHE MIGHT BE LIKE A GHOST ANGEL BESIDE THE LEFT THERE IS ANOTHER PICTURE I SEE TWO FACES ONE IS A MAN BUT HIS FACE IS VERY BONES LIKE A SPECTRUS AND THE OTHER IS LIKE A WOMEN BUT AT THE SAME TIME IT GOES LIKE A MAN ON THE PICTURE OF THE LADY WITH HER HAIR UP ON THE WAY BOTTOM THE SAME LITTLE BOY IS ON THE CORNER LIKE THE ONE ON THE WALL .ON THE TOP OF THE PICTURE BESIDE THE LIGHT I SEE THE SAME FACE OF A WOMEN BUT I DONT SEE THE BOY SHE IS SMILING AT YOU AND ON THE TOP OF THE STIARS I SEE THE LITTLE BOY BESIDE THE TOP OF THE DOOR OR WINDOW DONT KNOW WHICH IS IT IS HARD TO SEE AND THE BLACK FIURE BESIDE THE STAIR IS A BLACK DRESS WITH LONG BLACK VEIL SITTING ON A CHAIR THE LITTLE BOY IS BEHIND SOMEBODY BUT I CAN HARDLY SEE WHO IS IT . MY WORD TO YOU KEEP LIVING WHERE YOU ARE IF THOSE ARE YOUR PICTURES WHERE EVER YOU GO THEY WILL FOLLOW YOU IF THERE EVIL SPIRITS LONG TIME AGO THEY MIGHT HURT YOU BUT IF BEEN A LONG TIME THEY WILL GURARD YOUR FAMILY. I DONT HAVE PICTURE LIKE YOU BUT I GO THROW THE SAME THING MYSELF WHERE I LIVED SITTING ON THE COMPUTER I FEEL SOMEBODY BEHIND ME OR HEAR STEPS I AM THINKING IS MY SON IS NOBODY DONT WORRY YOU HAVE GIFT THAT SOMETIMES PEOPLE DONT KNOW AND THEY SAY NO SHE IS CRAZY SOMETIMES I WONDER IS A GIFT OR A CURSE TAKE CARE.

  3. I think you are extremely brave and kind to have all of those photos in your home. It is so sad when family photos are unclaimed – think of all the energy imprinted on them over the years from all the people who have spent hundreds of hours staring at them… Now you have those photos and all of that energy in your house. Yikes! I don’t see how you couldn’t draw spirits attached to those photos into your home with the pictures. Your sincerity and kindness almost asks for it and welcomes it and welcomes them with open arms? Just seems like lots of house guests. If that’s okay with you, I would imagine that would be okay with them. I would just worry about the rotten characters you didn’t bargain for. I’m sure your parrott will let you know- mine sees everything!

Leave a Reply

