Spirits in the Bunkhouse?

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

The Bunkhouse, Kernville, CA

The Paranormal Housewives stumbled upon the the Bunkhouse almost by accident. Marsha already knew about Kernville; it was and is one her favorite places to vacation. I called around looking for a place to stay and found Carla, who not only was not shocked by our passion for seeking spirits, she was kind enough to let us know that at least one of her cabins had some serious paranormal activity going on. Did I want to reserve a cottage? Well, let’s just say I couldn’t whip out the credit card fast enough.

The main attraction in Kernville is the river; it is beautiful, wild and dangerous, attracting anglers, rafters and others who float or tumble down the river according to their levels of courage and lack of fear. The hills are stark and dramatic, the sky huge and ever-changing as ominous clouds form and deflate throughout the afternoon. It was mid-September when we made our appearance, and summer was giving way to something more somber and unpredictable. The river snaking through the valley seemed to reflect the wildness of the sky and made me feel and understand the original meaning of awesome: a spectacle of Nature that demands respect for its power.

The old cemetery just outside of town was as mysterious as Kern River and Lake Isabella, especially dramatic under the moonlight. Here the markers reflect a great deal of California history, from the Gold Rush to the Spanish American War, on through WWII, Korea, Vietnam . . . and the sad graves of children who did not survive the flu, or drowned, or simply didn’t have the strength or stamina to live in the wild West in the days before antibiotics.

The town itself reflects a dichotomy between the locals and everyone else. We were treated exceptionally well by the owners and managers of businesses and restaurants, all of whom were gracious and genuinely interested in our pursuit of all matters immaterial; however, there were some hard stares and “you’re not from around here” vibes from some of the townsfolk. I understand small towns, so this was not a surprise or a disappointment. After all, this is a small community that protects itself from the outside as much as possible. Everyone seems to know everyone else, and I’m sure four ladies dressed in pink searching for ghosts might strike some as odd.

Odd. That word brings me back to the ghost hunt at the Bunkhouse.  Carla Thorn is one of the nicest, most accommodating hosts I have ever had the pleasure to work with. Not only does she maintain several clean and spacious cabins, she makes her guests feel special and at home. There was ample room at our cabin for four Paranormal Housewives and two husbands. She went out of her way to make sure we were all comfortable and lacked for nothing. Back to that word, “odd”: something definitely out of the ordinary was happening in the Bunkhouse. Carla graciously allowed us to investigate it, even though she was somewhat nervous about what we might find. The maids had reported odd incidents in that cabin, such as beds that “unmade” themselves and the deep imprint on the sofa of someone who wasn’t there. The Bunkhouse has something of a history–rumor has it that Bob Hope’s cousin committed suicide on that property decades back. We have not been able to verify this story, yet–but we plan to continue digging for information. According to Carla, he shot himself just outside of the front door. Oddly enough, there was a heart drawn on the blind covering the front door window, with a hole in it. Jay, the owner/manager of Silver City Ghost Town, (another post is coming soon on Jay, Izzy and Silver City Ghost Town!) had a different impression of how “Hope”–as he was called–met his end. More on that in a moment.

The Bunkhouse has a definite “feel” to it; even if you’re there by yourself, you are not necessarily alone. We set up that night and started our EVP sessions, while I took pictures and we scanned our iOvilus, Ghost Radar and EMF detectors for anything unusual. We are not devotees of one gadget or another, but sometimes there is a nice convergence of information that leads us to believe that someone is attempting to communicate. There were significant raps and taps, as well as a personal experience of mine that I am still attempting to understand. While I was on the couch with Marsha, I felt a burning pain run up the vein in my left wrist. I commented on this before I understood the possible significance–did Bob Hope’s cousin cut open his wrist? Was I feeling something like “sympathy pains”? It was a very intense and very emotional moment. Jay from Silver City had investigated the Bunkhouse before, and he told Marsha after our investigation that he had the same impression regarding the man’s death.

Here are the EVPs from that night with a brief explanation of what was happening at the time. As usual, you need headphones and a willingness to listen with the volume up–WAY up–to appreciate the strangeness of these clips. As Marsha and Vee noted, in most of our audio there is whispering when video evidence shows us all to be dead silent. As usual, the whispered background conversation is impossible to decipher, but it’s there. So here we go:

In the first EVP, you hear a quick, whispered voice. Any idea what he/she is saying?

Sierra Gateway Cottages Bunkhouse first 9 9 11

In the third EVP, you will hear a distant, male voice:

Sierra Gateway Cottages Bunkhouse third 9 9 11

Right before you hear Kimberly mention me moving, you will hear a voice that to me, sounds like “don’t know”.

Sierra Gateway Cottages Bunkhouse fourth 9 9 11

A quick voice says “K” or “Kay”:

Sierra Gateway Cottages Bunkhouse fifth 9 9 11

I include the clip below, even though it was controversial. The initial take on this was that a disembodied voice states “I want your body”, which was disconcerting since I had felt a burning pain up my wrist that seemed to indicate some kind of possession (had Hope slashed his wrists?). However, that voice was actually saying “I wanna join this party,” and it was Vee moving over to the chair to sit near us. We see Vee on video state this–BUT–we did not see him say “Yesssss” or continue to talk after his one sentence. You will hear, fairly clearly, more talking under me. I don’t know who this might be, and neither does anyone else.

Sierra Gateway Cottages Bunkhouse sixth SUPER CREEPY 9 9 11

Kim also caught this on her recorder. The iOvilus indicates where my key is:

Sierra Gateway Cottages Sierra Cottages Bunkhouse seventh in my bag 9 9 11

There is an obvious, and disconcerting deep breath in this clip that video evidence proves is not one of us:

Sierra Cottages Bunkhouse eighth 9 9 11

A strange whine.

Sierra Cottages Bunkhouse ninth 9 9 11

A clear “tap” above the TV.

Sierra Cottages Bunkhouse tenth 9 9 11

In the EVP below, the iOvilus observes that Kim is pointing her video camera at the “addition”.

kernvillebunkhousekimaddition

The iOvilus also correctly states the location of a key that we were looking for (my “bag”):

kernvillebunkhousekimbag

I ask if anyone minds if I take a flash picture. A quick, whispered voice says “do it”:

kernvillebunkhousekimdoit

There are two “heys” in this clip:

kernvillebunkhousekimhey

Consensus?Although we could not prove the identity of the voices in these clips and cannot say who or what is responding via taps and iOvilus manipulation, we CAN say that this cabin was very active and definitely houses someone quite interactive and willing to communicate. Not knowing who or what that could be is frustrating, to say the least; we need much more information in order to provide some answers to those who work at and visit the Cottages. We are planning to investigate the Bunkhouse again in October and conduct more research into the death of Bob Hope’s cousin (if indeed this is a true story).

One visit can’t tell you everything there is to know. This is all preliminary for the moment.  We look forward to returning to the Bunkhouse and enjoying the beauty of the place and the hospitality of our host, who we have ALMOST convinced to join us in our next investigation. I will also post this week results from the Silver City Ghost Town investigation: it’s fascinating. More to follow–stay tuned.

Kirsten A. Thorne, Ph.D/PHW

If anyone is interested in spending a peaceful weekend at the cottages or checking out the Bunkhouse, please contact Carla Thorn at (800) 888-8194.

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    I always stay tuned!! This is my favorite blog.

  2. Kimberly Demmary says:

    I just loved this place. The cabins were so great and I recommend it to anyone. Here is a little encounter I had with the town folk. The team went and had dinner at a cute restaurant that looked like an old ghost town. We were kind of seated in this separate area from the rest of the restaurant. I went into the main part of the restaurant to get a box for my food and I felt all the eyes of the town upon me. While I was standing there waiting for my box some folks where talking to me, asking me about my shirt and who we were. Once they found out, I think they found it amusing. Some guy sitting right behind me jumped up and yelled “Boo!!!” I didn’t jump, I wasn’t even startled (I calmly turned and looked at him) and I wasn’t sure what to do at that moment, but then and his wife started laughing at him and mocking him because he failed to scare me. Then I started laughing and it all turned out okay. The next thing you knew, they wanted to come along on the investigation. It was a great weekend. The cabins deserves another visit very, very, very soon!

    • parawife says:

      I don’t think I heard that story! How funny. Yes, that whole weekend was interesting, fun and dare I say, educational. I learned a great deal about a special place.

  3. grendl says:

    I can’t wait to go back on October 15th for another Paranormal Housewives investigation!

  4. Carla Thorn says:

    Thank you for all your kind words about the cottages and me! 🙂
    Looking forward to your next visit ladies. Meanwhile I will try and obtain more information on the history of the Bunkhouse and its residents.
    See you in October!

  5. Brad says:

    Stayed at the bunkhouse last Friday nite (10/7/11), only because it was the only place available that nite due to the annual car show in Kernville that weekend. My buddy Seve secured our resy, not knowing anything about the place aside from the fact that Carla was very accomodating

    • parawife says:

      Hi Brad, Carla is definitely very accomodating. If you experienced nothing odd there, that’s great!! Not everyone really wants to share their cottage with a spirit. Also, I must say, if you don’t WANT any activity, you probably won’t experience any. We go looking for it, so the spirits respond!

      • Carla Thorn says:

        What Brad did not tell you is his buddy Steve fell out of bed. He commented to me that it had been a long time since he fell out of bed! He then pondered for a moment and said
        “Maybe I was pushed” Funny….
        Come back soon Brad & Steve! I really enjoyed visiting with them!

  6. Hoser says:

    Kernville is a favorite motorcycle ride destination for me and my buddy. Killer backcountry roads, beautifull sierra vistas, an overwelming wealth of recreation choices and the friendliest bunch of characters/real people you’d be honored to meet. The place is a 2011 Mayberry!
    We stayed at the “haunted bunkhouse” Friday
    nite 10/7. It was pretty much our only option, as there was a hotrod show there that weekend. Didn’t know anything about it supposedly being haunted, untill my 2 wheel bro looked on line for more info/pics of the place and checked the PH site. We were stoked that this would add to the adventure of our trip!
    We really got lucky with an awesome place that’s walking distance to everything in town! Plus the bunkhouse was big, with all the modern convienences. I dug the place, and so did my buddy. The only possible paranormal activity we encountered was my buddy, as he discribed getting thrown out bed at 1:48 am! May have been due to the mummy sleeping bag he was sleeping in onthe

  7. Hoser says:

    Kernville is a favorite motorcycle ride destination for me and my buddy. Killer backcountry roads, beautifull sierra vistas, and an overwelming wealth of recreation choices and the friendliest bunch of characters/real people you’d be honored to meet. The place is a 2011 Mayberry!
    We stayed at the “haunted bunkhouse” Friday
    nite 10/7. It was pretty much our only option, as there was a hotrod show there that weekend. Didn’t know anything about it supposedly being haunted, untill my 2 wheel bro looked on line for more info/pics of the place and checked the PH site. We were stoked that this would add to the adventure of our trip!
    We really got lucky with an awesome place that’s walking distance to everything in town! Plus the bunkhouse was big, with all the modern convienences. I dug the place, and so did my buddy. The only possible paranormal activity we encountered was my buddy, as he discribed getting thrown out bed at 1:48 am! May have been due to the mummy sleeping bag he was sleeping in on top of the bed ( I slept in the provided linens, which were very good). Or who knows! I’m not a real believer in the paranormal, but I have an open mind. And, who knows! Indian burriely ground theory?

Leave a Reply

