The Photographer’s Eye: In Search of the Unexplained and the Mysterious

Posted: August 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

The old Camarillo State Hospital grounds, now (almost) CSU Channel Islands

We take numerous photographs of our investigations and our preliminary explorations. Unfortunately, we don’t have the space to post all of them. My goal when taking pictures is two-fold: catch something that can’t be explained by ordinary means and attempt to capture the mood and atmosphere of a place. I also hope to offer a glimpse of who we are as people and as investigators. Below are photos from various investigations; only one is possibly paranormal.

Marsha Covert at Camarillo

Encino, CA: Rancho Los Encinos State Historical Park

The oldest jail in Los Angeles

Having fun on an investigation in Brea

Same as above; we like to cut loose and relax before we have to get serious.

Undisclosed location in Brea

Jennifer has what turns out to be a very accurate psychic impression.

Odd mist on the balcony. To be sure it wasn’t a trick of the light (refraction), we took another photo of the same location below:

Nothing appears in this photo.

We hope you enjoyed these photographs.

–Kirsten A. Thorne, Ph.D/PHW

Comments
  1. Hey,
    Is it possible that I could still come along on one of your investigations? I’ve been doing a lot of research on my own of theories, past research, infrastructure possibilites, theoretical physics, listening to your EVPS, and other EVPS. I really like what I hear. It is definetely interesting! What would be interesting is if anything appears on video camera. I can bring my high def video camera and record everything and then go over all the data. Maybe make a dropbox? I understand if you don’t want people you don’t know on your investigations, but I’ve been trying to prove/ disprove this phenomenon for years, but I can’t get permission to get into places like you can. Do you have an EMF reader? I go to MoorPark College, if any of you are professors there, well, you might know me :).

    • parawife says:

      Hi Ryan,

      We’re still trying to find a good investigation for “new” people to come along. Yes, it sounds like you might be able to help us with the video shoot/review, so we will definitely keep you in mind for something coming up. Right now, we have some ideas but nothing definitive planned. I have your email, so what I’ll do is write to you the next time we head out to a site where we could use your skills. This probably won’t happen until late September, but be patient, we WILL put something together!

Leave a Reply

